Virat Kohli overtakes Brian Lara to break into top 10 of leading ODI run-scorers
24 Jan 2019

Virat Kohli overtakes Brian Lara to break into top 10 of leading ODI run-scorers

Virat Kohli on Wednesday went past West Indies batting great Brian Lara in the list of top run-scorers in ODI cricket during the first ODI of the five-match series between India and New Zealand.

Kohli, who fell for 45 in Napier, now has 10430 runs from 220 ODIs at an average of 59.60 while Lara had gathered 10405 runs from 299 one-day internationals.


Kohli versus Kane: Colossal numbers separating two modern-day greats

Virat `King` Kohli chosen as captain of ICC Men`s Test and ODI Teams of the Year

Virat Kohli turns history upside down, clean sweeps ICC`s three major awards

Undisputed `King` Virat Kohli `very, very happy` to win top honours at ICC Awards 2019

Virat Kohli could achieve this milestone of MS Dhoni during New Zealand ODIs

Virat Kohli says he doesn`t `feed off` booing anymore, looks forward to New Zealand challenge

Tendulkar has a special message for Kohli on claiming `hat-trick` of ICC awards

Anushka Sharma, Virat Kohli pose with a cute little fan in New Zealand, check out pics

WATCH! MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli`s crazy antics post-victory will leave you in splits

Virat Kohli to be rested for final 2 ODIs, T20I series against New Zealand


The Indian captain now stands behind Rahul Dravid and Sourav Ganguly, who have 10889 and 11363 runs respectively in the 50-over format.

The 30-year-old has been in sensational form since the 2015 World Cup and scored 3893 runs from 62 innings at an average of 81, including 17 centuries and 15 half-centuries. Out of the 17 tons, 12 of them came over the last two years. Overall, he has smashed 39 ODI centuries out of which 24 have come while chasing.



Kohli finished as the top run scorer in ODIs for two consecutive years in 2017 and 2018. Not only that, Kohli clean-sweeped the ICC Awards for 2018 by winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men`s Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year awards following an extraordinary 2018.

In the process, he became the first player in history to win all three major ICC honours.

The Indian captain will now look to extend his dominance in the 50-over format over the next two ODIs against the Black Caps before returning home to rest. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Wednesday evening that Kohli will miss the remaining two ODIs and the T20 series against the Kiwis in order to manage his workload. Rohit Sharma will be leading the side in Kohli`s absence.

Share this post